Call for applications for UNESCO Fellowship 2020. The UNESCO fellowship will take place in Moscow, Russia for four weeks. The fully-funded UNESCO/ISEDC Co-Sponsored Fellowships Programme – 2019 will run from 5 October to 30 October 2020. There is no need for IELTS/TOEFL for this amazing United Nations opportunity. 

The aim of this fellowships program is to enhance capacity-building and human resources development in the area of sustainable and renewable energy sources in developing countries and countries in transition. The training activities in the framework of these fellowships are tenable in specialized institutions in the Russian Federation. The medium of instruction will be English. UNESCO will solicit applications from the developing countries and countries in transition.

In line with the strategy and objectives of the approved UNESCO Programme and Budget for the Fellowships Programme Section, the UNESCO Category II International Center for Sustainable Energy Development (ISEDC) in Moscow (Russian Federation) is offering twenty (20) fellowships of four weeks (4)  duration each in 2020.

UNESCO Fellowship 2020:

Host Country: 

  • Russia

Sponsored By:

  • UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization)

Fellowship Duration:

  • One Month

Fellowship Dates:

  • 30 Sep to 25 Oct 2020

Fields of Study:

The candidates may choose to study in the following fields of study, which are aligned with UNESCO’s objectives and program priorities, as per approved 35 C/5 and in accordance with the decisions made by the Executive Board (161 EX/Decision 3.6.3 and 165 EX/Decision 8.6) : 

  • Energy and sustainable development.
  • Ecological management of energy resources.
  • Renewable energy.
  • Sustainable and renewable energy power generation.

Financial Support:

Facilities offered by ISEDC
  1. Beneficiaries will be exempt from paying tuition fees for the entire duration of studies/training; 
  2. Fellows will undertake studies/training under the supervision of an advisor or study director that will be provided by the host institution; 
  3. The donor Government will pay stipends to beneficiaries on a monthly basis, in local currency. The stipend amounting to four hundred fifty (450) US dollars is intended to cover living expenses such as accommodation, meals, pocket expenses, and incidentals. The donor will determine the amount of the stipend to be granted to beneficiaries; 
  4. ISEDC will assist in obtaining modest housing for the fellows. 
Facilities offered by UNESCO:
  1. UNESCO will cover the cost of the round-trip international travel at the most economical rate and the most direct flight. 
  2. UNESCO will pay a one-time travel allowance amounting to US$100 (one hundred US dollars) prior to the fellows’ departure for the Russian Federation. 
  3. Health insurance. To avail of this entitlement, beneficiaries should be declared medically fit by the UNESCO Medical Service that examines the complete medical dossiers

Eligibility Criteria:

  • A holder of at least a BSc Degree or BA in Economics
  • Proficient in the English language
  • Not more than 35 years of age
  • Youth & Students from developing Countries are Strongly Encouraged.

Eligible Countries:

AFRICA (46 Member States)

Angola*, Benin*, Botswana, Burkina Faso*, Burundi*, Cameroon, Cape Verde*, Central African Republic*, Chad*, Comoros*, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo*, Djibouti*, Equatorial Guinea*, Eritrea*, Ethiopia*, Gabon, Gambia*, Ghana, Guinea*, Guinea-Bissau*, Kenya, Lesotho*, Liberia*, Madagascar*, Malawi*, Mali*, Mauritius, Mozambique*, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda*, Sao Tome and Principe*, Senegal*, Seychelles, Sierra Leone*, Somalia*, South Africa, Eswatini, Togo*, Uganda*, United Republic of Tanzania*, Zambia*, and Zimbabwe

ARAB STATES (15 Member States)

Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Mauritania*, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Sudan*, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Yemen*

ASIA and THE PACIFIC (39 Member States)

Afghanistan*, Bangladesh*, Bhutan*, Cambodia*, China, Cook Islands, Federal States of Micronesia, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Kazakhstan, Kiribati*, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic*, Malaysia, Maldives*, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Myanmar*, Nauru, Nepal*, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa*, Solomon Islands*, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor – Leste, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu*, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu*, Viet Nam


Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti*, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela

EUROPE (22 Member States)

Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Montenegro, Republic of Moldova, Republic of Serbia, Romania, Slovak Republic, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, and Ukraine



Procedures on Submission of Applications:

(a) All applications should be endorsed by the National Commission for UNESCO and must be duly completed in English or French with the following attachments in DUPLICATE:

  • The prescribed UNESCO fellowship application form;
  • Six photographs;
  • Certified photocopies of Diplomas;
  • Certificate of English Language proficiency;
  • Subsequently, for those who have been selected, the UNESCO medical examination form duly completed by a recognized physician (not more than four months before the actual date of studies). The prescribed form of which will be sent along with the letter of award. Expenses incurred in the constitution of the medical dossiers will not be reimbursed.

(b) Files which are incomplete or received after the deadline for the submission of applications and candidatures, and do not fulfill the requirements mentioned above, will not be considered. 

(c) Each invited Member State is requested to nominate not more than two (2) candidates.

Selection of Beneficiaries:

  1. The final selection of beneficiaries lies with ISEDC. 
  2. The National Commission of selected fellows will be duly informed by UNESCO and the letter of award will immediately follow. 
  3. UNESCO will authorize the departure of beneficiaries who have completely complied with the requirements stipulated in the letter of award. 
  4. Candidates not informed of their selection by 1st September 2019 should consider that their applications have not been approved.

Application Deadline:

  • The last date to apply for the UNESCO Fellowship Program 2019 is  3 April 2020.


Scholarships Corner

Scholarships Corner

Scholarships Corner is a diverse forum where people aspiring to pursue higher studies or polishing their educational and professional skills.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest scholarships news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This