The European Commission Lorenzo Natali Media Prize for Journalist will acknowledge outstanding reporting on development issues and applications are open from 5 February to 9 March for online, print or audio-visual works. The aim of Natali Media Prize competition is to recognizes the dedication of journalists whose work helps to create a better world.
Established in 1992, Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is an award granted by the European Commission to journalists from all over the world for their outstanding works on development. For 2018 the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize will award a special thematic prize for submissions related to the elimination of violence against women and girls.
It will reward outstanding reporting on issues such as poverty eradication, and the economic, social and environmental dimensions of sustainable development, as outlined in the new European Consensus for Development. The Consensus is an ambitious vision for the EU institutions and Member States’ development policy, which calls for better coordination and coherence in support of peace, the planet, people, prosperity and partnerships.

Host Organisation:
  • European Commission

Theme 1 – Development
Theme 2 – Eliminate violence against women and girls
Also Read: Geneva Climate Challenge Switzerland


There will be up to 11 winners. Categories can be left deserted if quality is not met. The 11 winners are distributed as follows:

  • Two winners (junior and senior) will be awarded per region
    • Africa
    • Arab World and the Middle East
    • Asia and the Pacific
    • Latin America and the Caribbean
    • Europe.
  • They will receive a trophy and prize of EUR 5 000. A Grand Prize will be awarded in addition to one of the winners.
  • The Grand Prize winner will receive additional trophy and EUR 5 000. A Special Thematic Prize will award the best entry focusing on the elimination of violence against women and girls. The winner will receive a trophy and prize of EUR 5 000.

The winners are expected to participate in the Award Ceremony to be held in Brussels on 5/6 June 2018. The European Commission will cover the cost of the winners’ travel to Brussels for the Award ceremony (in the case of jointly authored or produced items, please note that only one person will be funded).

Eligibility Criteria:

The contest will be open to all journalists whose HQ media is based from one of these regions:

  • Africa
  • Arab World and the Middle East
  • Asia and the Pacific
  • Latin America and the Caribbean
  • Europe

Two categories of applicants will be identified:

  • Junior journalists (between 21 and 26 years old on 9 March 2018)
  • Senior journalists (above 27 years old on 9 March 2018)
  • The entries must have been published (print or online) or broadcasted (radio or television) in one of the five above-mentioned regions.
  • The applicants will automatically fall under one of these categories when filling in the application form.
  • The participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work.
  • Submitted entries are subject to length limitation. Text based entries must be maximum 1500 words long. Video and audio entries must be maximum 10 minutes long.
  • Laureates cannot compete again for the Prize the year following their award, but are eligible for subsequent editions.
  • Journalistic works submitted by current members of staff of the European Union institutions, people involved in the pre-selection process, the jury or MC-Phrenos will not be considered. These people can enter the contest three years after leaving their position.

Also Read: Photo Competition Asia

Selection Criteria:

All entries must have been published (online or print), broadcasted or have appeared in a media outlet for the first time between 21 of March 2017 and 9 of March 2018 (these dates included), in one of the five regions.
Each applicant can submit only one entry.
The Prize Secretariat reserves the right to disqualify any entry that contains hurtful, misleading, libellous or vulgar content, or that contains any material that could constitute or encourage conduct which would be considered a criminal offence, give rise to civil liability, or otherwise violate any national or international law.

How to Apply:

The applicants can only submit their applications via the online form. Submitted journalistic works can either have one or several authors. Postal and email application will not be considered.

Language requirements
Entries are accepted in all languages. However a translation in English, French or Spanish is required for the entries, that are not written in one of these languages. The entries will be evaluated on the basis of translated texts provided in one these three languages.

Application Deadline:
  • 9th March 2018


Facebook Comments