Call for applications for ECA Fellowships for Young African Professionals 2019. This fellowship program in Africa is open only to nationals of United Nations Economic Commission for Africa member States.

It is the regional arm of the United Nations in Africa. Its mandate is to promote the economic and social development of Africa. ECA’s dual role as a regional arm of the UN, and a part of the regional institutional landscape in Africa, positions it well to make unique contributions to member States’ efforts to address their development challenges. Its strength derives from its role as the only UN agency mandated to operate at the regional and sub-regional levels to harness resources and bring them to bear on Africa’s priorities.

In its efforts to reposition itself as a Think Tank of choice in Africa, ECA seeks to engage bright young
Africans for skills development through a fellowship programme within ECA’s work programme. This
fellowship initiative is in line with the Commission’s effort to assist member States develop their
capacities in economic and social policy research, development, implementation, analysis, governance,
and monitoring and evaluation.

ECA Fellowships Details:

Fellowship Location:

  • Africa

No. of Positions:

  • Multiple

Thematic Areas:

ECA is hereby inviting applications from qualified young African Professionals in the following thematic areas:

  • Macroeconomic policy, Economic Governance & Public Finance;
  • Private Sector Development & Finance, including Innovative Finance & Capital Markets;
  • Poverty, Inequality and social development,
  • Gender equality and women empowerment;
  • Demographic Dynamics for Development;
  • Innovation and Technology;
  • Climate Change & Management of Natural Resources, including Green Economy;
  • Industrialization and Economic Diversification Policies;
  • Development Planning and Statistics;
  • Regional Integration; Infrastructure and Trade;
  • Labor Economics and Employment.

The United Nations Fellowship aim to provide practical, on-the-job experience to the young professionals as they prepare either for a career in research and international development and the public sector.

Fellowship Benefits:

  • The opportunity to familiarize with the Commission’s broad programmes and
    services to member States and sub-regional bodies in addressing economic and social dimensions of Africa’s development priorities.
  • A one-off settling-in grant of USD 3,000 and a monthly stipend of USD 3,000 for the duration of the fellowship.

Fellow Responsibilities & Duties:

Within delegated authority, the fellow will be responsible for the following duties:

  • The Fellow(s) will agree to a work programme in the area of economic and social development defined mutually with the receiving/mentoring Division, Sub-Regional Office or Centre.
  • The fellow(s) will contribute to the work of the Division, Sub-Regional Office or Centre by carrying out research, analytical studies, drafting reports and supporting other activities, as directed.
  • Assignments within the areas of focus may include, but are not limited to, collecting, evaluating, interpreting, and analyzing economic, social and political development issues in the focus areas.
  • The fellow(s) will also contribute to technical and policy reports, briefing notes, and support in the organization and servicing of expert group meetings, workshops, and seminars; and fulfill various other
    administrative tasks for the effective delivery of the activities

Eligibility Criteria:

  • The candidate must have graduated before 1 March 2019 from either a Masters Degree or doctorate degree or equivalent;
  • Should have interest in one or more of the identified thematic areas;
  • Selected candidates will work on a predefined project, designed to contribute to specific aspects of the work programme of the mentoring Division, Sub-Regional Office or ECA Centres, and contribute to other activities;
  • Participate in national, regional or international meetings as assigned for exposure;
  • Submit a peer reviewed research paper at the end of the assignment;
  • Will be part of an alumni association of ECA Fellows and member of practicing international development “community of practice”.
  • Candidates applying for the position must be 35 years of age or below, at the time of the application.

Eligible Regions:

United Nations Economic Commission for Africa member States:

  • Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti,  Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Morocco, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, The D.R Congo, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

How to Apply for ECA Fellowships for Young African Professionals 2019?

Candidates must submit their applications together with the following documents:

  • Cover letter
  • UN Personal History Profile (PHP). This can be created at
  • A research proposal of not less than 1,000 words (in candidates’ preferred thematic area listed under General Information)
  • Copy of academic certificates
  • Copy of applicant’s national passport (information page only), and;
  • Three letters of reference/recommendation
    Applications with all the supporting documents should be emailed to the address indicated on the website, bearing the appropriate subject line.


Email Address:

Subject Line: ECA Fellowship for Young African Professionals, Ref. No. HRS29-05-05-03

Application Deadline:

The last date to apply for ECA Fellowships for Young African Professionals 2019 is January 10, 2019.