Applications are now open for fully funded Civil Society Leadership Awards 2019–2020. The Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) provide fully-funded scholarships for master’s degree study to individuals who clearly demonstrate academic and professional excellence and a deep commitment to leading positive social change in their communities.

Competition for the Civil Society Leadership Awards is open and merit-based. Selection is based on an applicant’s fit with the program’s objectives as well as the graduate admissions criteria of the participating universities. Academic excellence, professional aptitude, leadership potential in the field of specialization, proven commitment to open society values, and appropriate language proficiency are all important factors in evaluation.

Course Level:
  • Master’s Study
Fields of Study:
  • Communications, Journalism & Media
  • Culture, History & Society
  • Development Studies
  • Economics
  • Education Management & Leadership
  • Environment & Natural Resource Management
  • Gender Studies
  • Human Rights
  • Law (including Human Rights law)
  • Politics & International Studies
  • Public Health Policy & Health Management
  • Public Administration
  • Public Policy
  • Social Policy
  • Social Work

The Open Society Foundations and Scholarship Programs are committed to equal opportunity, and exercise that policy in relation to all admissions processes. CSLA does not discriminate on the basis of age, race, color, sex, religion, sexual orientation, or disability. 

Financial Support and Benefits: 

CSLA provide financial and administrative support for the following:

  • Pre-academic preparation via summer schools
  • Program-related travel
  • Tuition and mandatory university fees
  • Monthly stipend for room, board and other living expenses
  • Accident and sickness insurance during the program
  • Funds for educational materials and professional development
  • Attendance at a regional Scholarship Programs conference
  • Accommodations during the application process and the duration of the grant for applicants with disabilities

The program does not support:

  • Dependent family members
  • Those currently enrolled in an international Master’s degree program with support from a scholarship or fellowship
  • Employees involved in the administration of the Civil Society Leadership Award or their family members

Also Visit: Schwarzman Scholarships for International Students

Eligibility Criteria:

Applicants must meet all of the following criteria:

  • The awards are available to citizens of the following countries:  
    • Afghanistan
    • Azerbaijan
    • Belarus
    • Cambodia
    • China
    • Democratic Republic of Congo
    • Egypt
    • Equatorial Guinea
    • Eritrea
    • Ethiopia
    • Laos
    • Libya
    • Myanmar/Burma
    • Republic of Congo
    • South Sudan
    • Sudan
    • Syria
    • Tajikistan
    • Turkmenistan
    • Uzbekistan
  • demonstrate maturity, flexibility, and civil society leadership potential
  • have an earned bachelor’s degree as of May 15, 2018 with an excellent academic record;
  • demonstrate professional experience related to your chosen field of study;
  • demonstrate proficiency in the language of instruction (English, German or French) at a level required for admission by host universities;
  • be able to participate in an intensive pre-academic summer school in July or August 2019 and start their degree program in August or September 2019;
  • be able to receive and maintain a visa or study permit as required by the host country; and
  • demonstrate a clear commitment to their home country or region to strengthen open society development.
Required Documents:
  • Photocopy of picture page of all valid passports or national IDs in your possession
  • Resume or Curriculum Vitae (CV) in English
  • Academic and Professional Recommendation Letters
  • University Transcripts
  • Evidence of Competence in Intended Language of Instruction.
Application Deadline:
  • May 15, 2018


Facebook Comments